Touring, My Way


During weekends, friends will just go, “Ligo ta” to each other. Literally it means let’s bathe but conversationally it means, “Let’s go to the beach.” Food and drinks and guitars are optional but really it’s just an excuse to get wet.

So one lazy Sunday I was going to show a friend this beach that I like. That very same one on the header of this blog.

This beauty is not a resort maintained beach

I was absent minded and made my turn a corner too early. Well, what I found was another spectacular beach. I admired my discovery but it wasn’t quite what I wanted for that particular trip so I noted where it was  and turned around.  I’ll just have to visit that one some other time.

But that’s the fun thing about this island and its little brother Panglao.  Beaches are everywhere! While beach resorts are specific destinations, surf and sand is just about everywhere you go.  Little boys and girls who live by the coastline run across the road to get to their next door patch of sand. So, if you can find a place to park, you can find a place to swim.

Now other times during weekends and holidays I just hop on my motorbike and try to get lost. (Make sure you have a full tank of gas before you do that though.  Pushing an empty motorbike is not fun.)

If you want to stay on the road and just follow the coast go right on ahead. But what if it rains you ask? In Bohol sheds are placed within 5 to 15 minutes apart where you can wait out the rain and possibly have an interesting conversation with others doing the same thing.  That’s why Bol-anons on motorcycle tours don’t usually bother with raincoats. If you can brave the rain and get wet during your tour, that will give it a refreshing and possibly romantic charm all its own. Just don’t forget a helmet with a visor because rain stings on the face.  And get something waterproof to pack your electronics.

Waiting out the rain for a mo’

Next time, places I go to.

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in truth was
    once a leisure account it. Look complex to far introduced agreeable
    from you! By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

Leave a Reply

