Cool for School


Nearly a decade ago I was taking my Masters in Educational Psychology at the University of the Philippines in Diliman. But when the opportunity to work in Bohol came my way I decided to have a look see.

When I looked, Bohol looked back and I fell in love. That meant I had to leave my Masters degree behind. But before I left Manila I asked then College Secretary of the College of Education, the late Robinson Soria if he could recommend a school in Bohol for me to pursue my Masters, one that didn’t just go through the motions of giving out degrees.

From his experience in working with the Commission of Higher Education, he reccommended a leading, non-sectarian, private university in Bohol.

Collaborative work in our Masters classes in psychology.

I went with the recommendation and applied my units in Ed Psych to shift to Clinical Psych. And I’m glad to say I like it there. But don’t just take my word for it.  I have classmates from Cebu, Siquijor, Pagadian, Davao, the US and Italy.  I have friends who attend high school and college in Bohol and return to their home provinces to work. Seems like academic excellence is an open secret of the province.

Outside of the university I attend in Bohol, comparative statistics from the Department of Education Region 7 show that the Division of Tagbilaran City and the Division of Bohol have been performing better at National Achievement Tests than schools of other more industrialized provinces in the region.

And in the last quarter of 2012 the first state university of Bohol flexed its muscles by hosting the SCUAA meet or the State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association meet for the region in the sports complex of the city.

8th President of the Philippines Carlos P. Garcia

That should come as no surprise. Bohol did produce former President Carlos P. Garcia.  And it has constantly performed well in the fields of conservation, good governance, tourism and sustainable development.

Surf, sand and study.  How cool is that?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

