Falling for Inkumhan Falls


Frolic in the Falls of Inkumhan

Being the 10th largest island in the Phlippines, Bohol is a microcosm of Filipino land and water formations. Bohol has hills, mountains, beaches, rice terraces, rivers and water falls. My go to falls used to be in the town of Antiquiera, the famous Mag-aso falls. However, while Mag-aso is still beautiful, things changed due to the quake of 2013, it has lost it’s majestic cataract due to the earth quake and the vantage points from which to make the exhilerating 30-foot drop are now boardered with rocks.

I tell you I never get tired of these out of the city rides, I take any chance I get to see the deep blue and endless patches of green.

Finidng the Inkumhan falls gave me a chance to recover that joy that I remembered from more than a decade ago. The falls are located in the town of Dimiao a little less than an hour’s drive away from Tagbilaran.

Good old trusty Red, my companion for this tour. For the moment stopped by the seaside waiting for the rest of the party.

 

I tell you I never get tired of these out of the city rides, I take any chance I get to see the deep blue and endless patches of green. The way to the falls is clearly marked. Signs are large and legible.

Inkumhan here we come.

It’s another kilometer or so hike down to the valley below…enforced relaxation.

Upon reaching the parking space it’s another kilometer or so hike down to the valley below where the falls are hidden. So this is your last chance to leave a message to the outside world. Once down there you are beyond reach of all comm signals.  On the bright side, enforced relaxation.

Entrance is a ridiculously affordable ₱5 -₱10 for kids and adults respectively. And just ₱100 to rent a cottage for your things and food.

Seriously though why would you want to spend your time on social media in a place like this?Wait did I say relaxation? Well of course you could chill. But if you came with friends. I don’t see how your group can stay chill when it awakens the inner daredevil.

 

Young kids launch themselves 40 feet in the air to the waters below in fearless abandon.

 

Do you dare?
Chilling doesn’t work so well when wannabe trapeze artists constantly take to the air above you.

 

But yes there is serentiy above it all.

 

Some careful hiking would get you above the falls, turn around and you see this.

 

Take a dip, take a splash, or soak in the calm waters and cool down. I will definitely comeback here. Join me next time.

Leave a Reply

